Grokified Review: Is Half-Price Grok API Access Worthwhile for Hong Kong Developers?
A review of Grokified for Hong Kong residents: what registering through this site's link provides, the lifetime 50% discount against xAI's published prices, what a first payment of US$5 (about HK$39) buys, the Basic, Pro and Max plans, connecting Claude Code and Cursor, the charge currency and English jurisdiction, data retention, and who should and should not use it.
Last updated 24 October 2026

Best for
Hong Kong developers who wish to use low-cost Grok-labelled models in Cursor, Claude Code, Codex or their own code, are prepared to trial the service with US$5 (about HK$39), and will only submit code or text they are content for a third party to hold for 30 days.
Grokified charges half of xAI's list price on every request for as long as the account exists, without a cap. Through this site's link, a first payment of US$5 (about HK$39) brings the balance to US$15 (about HK$118), equivalent to US$30 of usage at list price, or roughly 187 coding-agent requests of 50,000 input and 10,000 output tokens on grok-4.6. Its limitations are, however, clear: nothing can be used before payment; the operating company was incorporated only in June 2026 and is governed by English law; the platform does not state who actually supplies the models; and all traffic passes through a shared upstream account that may impose rate limits regardless of the balance held. This site's recommendation is to trial it with US$5 for code and non-sensitive work, to keep each top-up small, and, if it proves unsuitable, to request a refund of the unused balance within 30 days of the top-up.
Pros
- Every request is billed at 50% of list price for the life of the account, with no savings cap and nothing to claim
- Through this site's link, a first payment of US$5 (about HK$39) brings the balance to US$15
- The list prices shown match xAI's own, so the discount is a genuine half
- One endpoint supports both OpenAI and Anthropic formats, and a command-line tool configures Claude Code, Codex and more than ten other tools
- The terms impose no restriction on where users are located, so Hong Kong residents may register directly
- Requests and responses are deleted after 30 days and are not used to train models
Watch-outs
- Nothing can be used before payment: the signup credit is released only by the first payment
- The platform does not state who supplies its models and describes the model names as compatibility labels
- When the shared upstream account is busy, 429 errors occur irrespective of the balance held
- The operating company was incorporated in June 2026 and has no public user reviews
- Charges are in a foreign currency, on which Hong Kong card issuers may levy a fee
- Governed by English law and courts, which makes redress difficult from Hong Kong; the 14-day cancellation right for UK consumers does not apply
Current related offer
Grokified offer pageAd / referral links — we may earn a bonus when you sign up.
Provider
Grokified
Sign up via this Grokified referral for a $5 signup credit (prepaid usage credit, not cash). It stays locked until your first payment, and a first payment of $4.99 or more adds another $5, so a $5 top-up gives a $15 balance. Grokified is an OpenAI-compatible API for IDEs and coding agents (Cursor, Claude Code, Codex and similar). Every account gets 50% off all usage for the life of the account, with no ceiling, code or claim step. Optional Basic / Pro / Max plans multiply prepaid credits. Requests and responses are kept for 30 days and never used for training. Grokified is an independent gateway run by DEEPORAX AI LTD (UK company, incorporated 22 June 2026); its terms say it is not a reseller of any model vendor, and it is not an official xAI product. USD pricing; subscription auto-renew follows live billing terms (plans say cancel anytime).
Requirement: A first payment of at least $4.99 (top-ups from $5, or Basic) unlocks the credit; nothing runs before it.
Easy5-15 minutesPayout The $5 signup credit lands on account creation but stays locked until your first payment; a first payment of $4.99 or more adds $5 more (a $5 top-up gives a $15 balance)
Verified 24 October 2026
Full claim instructions are on the Grokified offer page.
Background and operator
Grokified is a prepaid, OpenAI-compatible API intended mainly for coding tools. Users first deposit a US-dollar balance, then point Cursor, Claude Code, Codex or their own code at https://api.grokified.com/v1 with a key beginning gk_live_, and each request is deducted from the balance in real time. There is no monthly invoice; once the balance reaches zero, requests fail with a 402 error. The same balance also serves a web playground, image and video tools, and a Telegram bot.
The operator is DEEPORAX AI LTD, company number 17293947, registered in England and Wales with its registered office in Oldham, United Kingdom. The UK Companies House register shows that the company was incorporated on 22 June 2026 and is therefore only a few months old. Grokified describes itself as an independent gateway, neither xAI nor Groq. A user's balance is prepaid service credit with a supplier rather than a deposit, and is covered by no deposit protection scheme; should the company cease trading, the balance would be lost with it.
Model names and the actual supplier
The platform's models carry xAI's names, from grok-4.3 to grok-4.7, together with grok-build-0.1, and its Messages API page states that the models are Grok underneath. The terms of service are more guarded: the model names are described as compatibility labels only, Grokified is stated to be neither affiliated with nor endorsed by nor a reseller of any model vendor, and the models are said to be supplied by unnamed third parties. Its rate-limit page further notes that requests are processed through a shared upstream account.
In other words, users cannot confirm which model actually answers a given request, and the entire service depends on an undisclosed upstream arrangement; should that arrangement end, the service ends with it. Trialling a low-cost coding model on personal projects is reasonable, but the service is not a suitable foundation for a product on which customers depend.
Model pricing compared with xAI's published prices
Grokified offers eight text models. grok-4.3 and the three grok-4.20 variants cost US$0.63 per million input tokens and US$1.25 per million output tokens; grok-4.5, grok-4.6 and the flagship grok-4.7 cost US$1.00 and US$3.00 respectively; and the coding model grok-build-0.1 costs US$0.50 and US$1.00. Images cost US$0.01 each and video US$0.025 per second. Each figure is exactly half of the list price xAI publishes for the same model names on prompts below 200,000 tokens, so the discount is genuine when measured against xAI's own prices.
The 50% discount applies to every token type, including cached input and reasoning tokens, on every request for the life of the account, without seats, codes or a savings ceiling. Prompt caching is enabled automatically, and cached input is billed 75% to 85% below standard input. A prepaid account may use every model except grok-4.7, which requires the Basic plan. The terms permit Grokified to withdraw the discount for new registrations, while existing accounts retain it.
What registering through this site's link provides, and disclosure
An account registered through this site's link receives US$5 of signup credit, which is released only upon the first payment; where that first payment is US$4.99 or more, a further US$5 is added, once per account. A top-up of US$5 therefore brings the balance to US$15, all of which is spent at the 50% rate. This credit is Grokified usage denominated in US dollars, not cash, and bonus credit is never refundable; should the first payment subsequently be refunded, the US$5 bonus is withdrawn. Registrations sharing an IP address, email address or card with the referrer are rejected and receive nothing.
The link sets a 60-day, first-touch cookie, so the link should be opened first and the account registered in the same browser; no other invitation code should be entered on the sign-in screen, as a code typed manually replaces the link. Disclosure: 4pxer5cu is this site's referral code. For as long as your account continues to make payments, Grokified pays this site 30% of your top-ups and subscriptions, and grants this site a one-time US$5 credit after your first payment. These amounts are paid by Grokified and are not deducted from your balance.
The practical value of a first payment of US$5
Consider a typical coding-agent request: 50,000 tokens of context in and 10,000 tokens out on grok-4.6. At xAI's list price this costs US$0.16 (about HK$1.25); on Grokified it costs US$0.08 (about HK$0.63). The US$15 balance obtained from a first payment of US$5 covers about 187 such requests, against about 93 at list price. At the European Central Bank's reference rates for 23 October 2026, US$5 is about HK$39 and US$15 about HK$118, before any foreign-currency fee charged by the card issuer.
Actual agent workloads vary considerably, since tools such as Claude Code resend large amounts of context at every step, while caching reduces the cost of the repeated portion. Every response states the list price, the amount charged and the remaining balance, so after a day of use the dashboard shows the real cost of each task. That figure should guide any further top-up.
The Basic, Pro and Max plans
Plans are monthly subscriptions that deposit credit each period. Basic costs US$4.99 a month (about HK$39) and deposits US$7.49 of credit, worth US$14.98 at list price; Pro costs US$9.99 a month (about HK$78) and deposits US$19.99 (worth US$39.98); Max costs US$49.99 a month (about HK$392) and deposits US$120 (worth US$240). Basic additionally unlocks grok-4.7, higher-quality images, Video 1.5 and voice features; Pro adds realtime voice and remote MCP servers; Max adds priority processing. The first payment on every plan likewise attracts a further US$5.
Plans renew automatically until cancelled on the Billing page, and the remaining days of a period are neither refunded nor prorated. The platform does not state whether unused plan credit carries over, so a plan should match actual usage. The website also promotes half-price plans for the first two months but publishes no terms for that promotion, so plans should be assessed at full price. Those using less than about US$5 a month are adequately served by top-ups; for access to grok-4.7, Basic is the lowest-cost route.
Connecting Cursor, Claude Code and Codex
Any tool that accepts a custom OpenAI base URL can use https://api.grokified.com/v1 with a gk_live_ key. Grokified also provides an Anthropic-format Messages API at /v1/messages, the format used by Claude Code and the anthropic SDK; pointing the SDK at https://api.grokified.com is sufficient, as the path is added automatically.
The more convenient method is the command-line tool: run npm install -g grokified, then grokified login and grokified setup. The tool writes the base URL into each tool's configuration file, for example ~/.claude/settings.json for Claude Code and ~/.codex/config.toml for Codex, and also supports opencode, Crush, Goose, Qwen Code, Aider and Zed. Claude Code operates through a local relay at 127.0.0.1:4111, which holds the key. The tool has no restore command, so existing settings should be noted before it is run.
Notes for Hong Kong users: charge currency, governing law and refunds
Grokified's terms impose no restriction on where users are located, and xAI publishes no list of supported regions, so Hong Kong residents can pay by card and use the service directly. Its pricing page, however, states that cards are charged in US dollars, while its billing documentation states that charges are collected in pounds sterling; the checkout page is decisive. Either way the transaction is in a foreign currency, on which Hong Kong card issuers may levy a fee. Grokified is not registered for UK VAT and adds no tax, and card statements show GROKIFIED AI.
Unused prepaid balance may be refunded within 30 days of the top-up, to the original card, within 5 to 10 business days of approval; requests should be sent from the account email address to [email protected] with the transaction reference. Consumed usage, bonus credit and usage arising from a leaked key are not refundable, nor are the remaining days of a cancelled plan. The 14-day cancellation right in the terms applies only to UK consumers, and the service is governed by English law with disputes heard by the English courts, which makes redress from Hong Kong difficult; each top-up should therefore be kept small.
Privacy and data retention
Grokified retains requests and responses for 30 days for user history, customer support and the investigation of abuse or billing disputes, after which they are deleted automatically; generated images and video are kept for 24 hours. The platform states that it never uses prompts or outputs to train any model and never sells them. Upstream model providers receive users' requests but are not named in the privacy policy, and some processors are located outside the UK and the European Economic Area, with transfers made under the UK IDTA or EU standard contractual clauses.
The website sets first-party cookies only, and use from within development tools sets none. Client code, passwords and personal data should not be submitted; for open-source or personal projects, the 30-day retention period is an acceptable trade-off.
User reviews and common errors
Grokified has no app-store rating, and as at 24 October 2026 the Trustpilot page it claimed in September 2026 had received no reviews. For so new a service, its own error documentation gives the clearest picture of what users actually encounter.
Unpaid accounts are limited to 32,000 input tokens per request (a 413 error beyond that), a limit a coding agent soon exceeds, and they share a daily budget which, once exhausted, pauses every free account. Paying accounts are permanently released from both limits, but 429 errors still occur whenever the shared upstream account exceeds its rate, and the platform advises retrying with backoff, since the error does not reliably state how long to wait. Occasional agent stalls should be expected, and a fallback provider should be configured for work with deadlines.
Who should and should not use it
Grokified merits a trial for readers who wish to use a low-cost coding model in Claude Code, Cursor or Codex, accept Grok-labelled models, and are prepared to spend US$5 to establish the real cost of each task; as an API testbed for personal projects, its cost is also very low.
It is unsuitable for readers who must know which model and provider handle their data, who require confidential handling, or who are building a product on which customers depend. Readers who intended to use the free credit without paying should also pass, since nothing can be used before the first payment.
FAQ
- What does registering through this site's link provide?
- US$5 of signup credit, released by the first payment, plus a further US$5 where that payment is US$4.99 or more. A US$5 top-up brings the balance to US$15, spent at the 50% rate.
- Can Grokified be used in Hong Kong?
- Yes. The terms impose no restriction on users' location, and payment is by card; as the charge is in a foreign currency, the card issuer may levy a fee.
- Can the free credit be used without payment?
- No. The signup credit is released only by the first payment, and unpaid accounts are limited to 32,000 input tokens per request.
- Is the 50% discount permanent?
- The terms grant every account 50% off list price for life, with no savings cap. The platform may stop offering it to new registrations; existing accounts retain it.
- Is Grokified an official xAI service?
- No. It is operated by DEEPORAX AI LTD, a UK company, which states that it is not affiliated with any model vendor and describes the model names as compatibility labels.
- Are refunds available?
- Unused prepaid balance may be refunded within 30 days of the top-up. Consumed credit, bonus credit and the unused part of a plan period are not refunded.
- Are prompts retained?
- They are retained for 30 days and then deleted. The platform states that they are not used for training or sold, but it does not name the upstream providers that process them.